Preliminary classification of coastal dunes of KwaZulu-Natal.

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review


The 550 km-long KwaZulu-Natal coast broadly divides into a bedrock-framed southern section and northern coastal plain section, each of approximately equal length. Seven types of coastal dune are identified on this coast: estuary barrier dunes; mainland beach foredunes; prograded beachridge dunes; headland bypass dunes; transverse dune fields; parabolic/migrating dunefield; and climbing dunes. The development and distribution of the various dune forms is more strongly controlled by the geological setting than the aerodynamic regime.
Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)718-722
JournalJournal of Coastal Research
VolumeS.I. 7
Publication statusPublished (in print/issue) - 28 Apr 2014


Dive into the research topics of 'Preliminary classification of coastal dunes of KwaZulu-Natal.'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this