Turner Prize 2021 Winner

  • Cargnelli, Alessia (Recipient), O'Connor, Laura (Recipient), Campbell, Emma (Recipient), Millar, Stephen (Recipient), Conlon, Mitch (Recipient), Lavelle, Clodagh (Recipient), Bhreathnach Cashell, Sighle (Recipient), Bhreathnach Cashell, Sinead (Recipient), Butler, Jane (Recipient), McMurray, Grace (Recipient) & Wells, Thomas (Recipient)



Array Collective are a group of individual artists rooted in Belfast, who join together to create collaborative actions in response to the sociopolitical issues affecting Northern Ireland. Array’s studios and project space in the city centre acts as a base for the collective, however the participating artists are not limited to studio holders. Array Collective members are: Thomas Wells, Alessia Cargnelli, Emma Campbell, Clodagh Lavelle, Sighle Bhreathnach-Cashell and Laura O’Connor (all Array Studio members) as well as Sinéad Bhreathnach-Cashell, Jane Butler (Flax), Gracie McMurrary (QSS), Mitch Conlon (PS2) and Stephen Millar (Creative Exchange).
On December 1st 2021, Array Collective won the Turner Prize 2021! The award was announced at a ceremony in Coventry Cathedral, more info here. Array Collective were nominated in May 2021 by the jury: Aaron Cezar, Director, Delfina Foundation; Kim McAleese, Programme Director, Grand Union; Russell Tovey, Actor; and Zoé Whitley, Director, Chisenhale Gallery. The jury was chaired by Alex Farquharson, Director, Tate Britain. For the first time, the shortlist consisted entirely of artist collectives, who all dealt with social issues through their practice. The five nominees, along with Array Collective, were: Cooking Section, Gentile Radical, B.O.S.S. and Project Artworks.
Degree of recognitionInternational
Granting OrganisationsThe TATE

Awarded at event

Event titleTurner Prize Award Ceremony 2021
LocationCoventry City Cathedral , Coventry, United KingdomShow on map
Period1 Dec 2021 → 1 Dec 2021